Locals recommended for RADF Committee

Date published: 10 October 2018

New committee members for the Regional Arts Development Fund have been recommended by Townsville City Council’s Community and Cultural Development Committee.

The Committee voted to appoint 14 local community members to the Regional Arts Development Fund (RADF) Committee.

RADF Committee Chair Cr Margie Ryder said the proposed committee members were chosen for their dedication to arts and culture in Townsville and experience with a variety of art forms.

“The RADF Committee members are selected based on a number of criteria, but mostly we look for their involvement and their understanding of the needs of the community,” Cr Ryder said.

“The new members will provide valuable advice to Council on community priorities and will help decide how the grant funding is allocated.

“Townsville is definitely the arts and culture capital in Northern Australia and it’s exciting to watch the community grow.”

Cr Ryder said previous rounds of RADF funding have helped to support local artists and creatives pursuing their next project.

“This funding has helped support some amazing project to help nurture the next generation of creative talent in Townsville,” Cr Ryder.

The RADF Committee recommendations will go to a vote at the next Full Council meeting.

RADF is a unique partnership between the Queensland Government and Townsville City Council to support local talent, unite communities and celebrate the arts across the state.

The Queensland Government, through Arts Queensland, is contributing $2.08 million in 2018-19 in partnership with 58 councils statewide to help deliver cultural experiences which align with local priorities.

The proposed new committee members are:

Rob DoumaDrawing, Print making, Sculpture, Painting
Arminelle FlemingTheatre, Performance, Playwriting
Trevor KeelingTheatre, Arts administration
Fiona LakePhotography, Writing
Hilary MartinYouth arts
Sarah MathiesonCreative writing
Jennifer MulcahySculpture, Printmaking
Jane PiraniDance
Jocelyn McKinnonEducator in arts and cultural areas
Michael PopeDrawing
Margaret RobertsonPrintmaking, Arts
Michael SamsPlay writing, Actor
Dave StaffordGallery owner
Sonia WardVisual art