Townsville youths recognised with Young Resilience Award

Date published: 26 July 2019

Townsville City Council is recognising the efforts and contributions made by local youths during the monsoon recovery effort with an award ceremony at Townsville Eats.

The fourteen recipients will be awarded a “Young Resilience Award” and a gift card for the work they did to assist the community following the unprecedented monsoon.

Community and Cultural Development Committee Chair Cr Colleen Doyle said the efforts made by the recipients was absolutely outstanding.

“I am extremely thrilled that we can recognise some of the extraordinary youths we are lucky to have living in our city,” Cr Doyle said.

“These young people volunteered their time to do as much as they could for their neighbours, friends, and other members of the community – it really is breathtaking.

“The recovery is far from over and there is still lots of work to be done, but it is nice to stop, reflect and commend the herculean efforts made by the entire community during the recovery so far.”

Nominations for the Young Resilience Award were sought on social media with a large number of nominations coming in for the chosen recipients.

Winners of the awards are:

  • Kassidy Hinton
  • Neilin Combrinck
  • Chloe Hancock
  • Tara Strapps
  • Jordan Kelly
  • Joel Hinton
  • Lauren Hanran
  • Makenzie Weier
  • Ellie Hampson
  • Anthony and Ashley Wright
  • Jaidyn Osborne
  • Regan Leatch
  • Ehlana Kelly
  • Trayeden Fulmer