New council officially sworn-in

Date published: 17 April 2020

Townsville City’s new council has been officially sworn in today, following the Electoral Commissioner for Queensland’s declaration of the results of the recent election.

The new council is:

  • Mayor – Cr Jenny Hill
  • Division 1 – Cr Margie Ryder
  • Division 2 – Cr Sue Blom
  • Division 3 – Cr Ann-Maree Greaney
  • Division 4 – Cr Mark Molachino
  • Division 5 – Cr Russ Cook
  • Division 6 – Cr Suzy Batkovic
  • Division 7 – Cr Kurt Rehbein
  • Division 8 – Cr Maurie Soars
  • Division 9 – Cr Liam Mooney
  • Division 10 – Cr Les Walker

Today’s investiture was unique as incoming councillors adhered to social distancing and gathering restrictions implemented in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

The ceremony was also livestreamed on council’s website to enable family and friends of incoming councillors who were unable to attend, as well as the general public, to view the proceedings.

Mayor Jenny Hill said the community’s economic and social recovery from the pandemic was top of the agenda for the new council.

“The COVID-19 global pandemic has had a huge impact on our community, with people losing their jobs and businesses closing or having to significantly change the way they operate,” Cr Hill said.

“In response to the pandemic, the last council endorsed a suite of measures to support individuals as well as businesses.

“The new council will need to hit the ground running and look at how we support the community’s recovery while, at the same time, ensuring the regular business of council continues and delivering on the commitments we have made.”