Seniors of the Year honoured at annual luncheon

Date published: 24 August 2017

Two Townsville seniors have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to the community at the annual Seniors Luncheon at Townsville Stadium today.

Olive Foley has been named Female Townsville Senior of the Year. Mrs Foley was nominated by the Queensland Country Women's Association (QCWA) Magnetic Garbutt branch for her tireless contributions.  Mrs Foley joined the QCWA in 2000, and has held positions at Branch Level of President, Vice President and Treasurer.  At Division Level Mrs Foley has been on the Northern Division Units committee as Secretary and Treasurer, ensuring the running of the Denham St Units and Hall and the Kissing Points Units.
Mrs Foley is a trusted and valued member of the community and has tirelessly volunteered for many organisations including Lifeline, The Endeavour Foundation,  Meals on Wheels, President of the Rowes Bay Ladies Golf Club, Mundingburra State School, Central School and Pimlico High School.

Barry Martin (OAM) has been named Male Townsville Senior of the Year. Mr Martin was the creator of the Vietnam Veterans Federation in Townsville more than 30 years ago. He has been president for many years, as well as the senior vice president of the national body VVFAA.
Mr Martin is a qualified advocate and welfare officer and personally supports a large number of veterans and their families in Townsville.  Despite his physical limitations, Mr Martin volunteers more than 30 hours a week, 52 weeks each year.

Mr Martin was one of the original men who created the Townsville Men's Shed in 2009.  Despite his physical and health challenges, Mr Martin leads by example with his constant contributions daily to both the Mens Shed and to the Vietnam Veterans Federation, providing inspiration to those he meets.
This year a Special Commendation Award was also presented to husband and wife volunteers Janice and Allen Bishop for their many years of dedication to volunteering.

Other female nominees were:
* Norel Walsh
* Winifred Gresty
* Margaret Purdon
* Joanne Hattingh
* Susie Bayley
* Janice Bishop

Other male nominees were:
* Kenneth Christie
* John Jackson
* Allen Bishop

Councillor Colleen Doyle announced the winners at the annual Seniors Luncheon at Townsville Stadium today.

“Seniors play such a valuable role in our community giving up their time to help community and sporting groups, organisations and individuals to deliver programs, events and just generally keep the wheels turning,” Cr Doyle said.

“Our community greatly benefits from their selfless and tireless work.”