$2 million Basics Blitz launched

Date published: 14 November 2017

Townsville City Council is launching a five-week Basics Blitz to spruce up the city and suburbs in time for Christmas.

For five weeks Basics Blitz crews will be in action seven days a week, moving around the suburbs cleaning and fixing footpaths and gutters, removing graffiti, mowing and weeding, mulching garden beds, repairing water leaks and more.

Mayor Jenny Hill said the extended drought had taken its toll leaving parts of the Townsville weather beaten and a little worse for wear.

“We have been through one of our driest patches in a long while, and that has clearly affected the look of the town and the mood of everybody living here.

“We are doing a lot of work already and we’ve had a little rain, but Council recognises we need to more to make our neighbourhoods sparkle once again to lift everybody’s spirits as we enter the festive season.

An extra $2 million on top of Council’s existing maintenance budget has been allocated to give crews the resources needed to complete the Blitz.

Cr Hill said residents who wanted to report an area that needed repairs or a tidy up could call Council on 13 48 10 or go online via the council website and the Blitz crews would come and fix it.

“The $2 million we’re investing in this Basics Blitz will help give the community a welcome lift after a couple of tough years,” Cr Hill said.

“Council has achieved significant savings from cutting red tape and inefficiencies, which has freed up funds to spend where it’s needed most.

“During the next five weeks, Basics Blitz work teams will be out every day sprucing up suburbs and responding to reports of faults and problems in our public spaces, local streets, parks and lane ways.”

Cr Hill said although the Blitz would finish on December 15, the work to spruce up Townsville would continue.

“I want Townsville to be a place we’re all proud to call home,” she said.

Suburbs to be targeted by Blitz crews in the first week of the program include: Aitkenvale, Bohle, Cranbrook, Currajong, Garbutt, Gulliver, Heatley, Mount Louisa, Mount St John and Vincent.