Special council meeting endorses committees, Deputy Mayor

Date published: 26 April 2020

Council’s standing committees are:

  • Infrastructure Services (Chair: Cr Molachino)
  • Planning and Development (Chair: Cr Les Walker)
  • Water and Waste (Chair: Cr Russ Cook)
  • Sports and Recreation (Chair: Cr Maurie Soars)
  • Community and Cultural Development (Chair: Cr Ann-Maree Greaney)
  • Community Safety and Environment (Chair: Cr Margie Ryder), and
  • Governance and Finance (Chair: Cr Kurt Rehbein).

The advisory committees are:

  • Arts and Culture
  • Heritage
  • Sister Cities
  • Arts Acquisition Working Group
  • Community Safety
  • Inclusive Communities
  • City Image
  • Street Art Activation Group

“Our standing and advisory committees conduct much of the detailed work leading to a recommendation to council and enabling informed decision making,” Mayor Jenny Hill said.

“The membership of the committees provides a good mix of skills, knowledge and experience, with councillors appointed to positions where their skills and knowledge will best serve our community.”

Cr Hill said all committees would be reviewed to ensure they were meeting the needs of the Townsville community.

“This review will look at each committee’s objectives, key roles and terms of reference, with the outcomes of the review to come back to council in June,” she said.

The Mayor congratulated Cr Molachino on his appointment as Deputy Mayor.

“Mark Molachino has proven himself to be a hard worker for his division and the city of Townsville since his election to Council in 2016,” Cr Hill said.

“In the last council he was the chairperson of the Infrastructure Services committee and deputy chair of the Local Recovery Group as well as a member of the Planning and Development and Townsville Water and Waste committees.

“I look forward to working with him as Deputy Mayor to ensure Townsville remains a great place to live and work.”

Prior to his election to Council, Cr Molachino served 18 years in the Australian Defence Force, serving in both Australia and overseas. He returned to Townsville in 2009 as a small business owner and has worked in the aviation, tourism, mining and construction sectors.

The Mayor also paid tribute to outgoing Deputy Mayor, Cr Les Walker, who had been in the position since 2016.

“Les has worked tirelessly for the community over the past four years as Deputy Mayor and leaves very big shoes to fill,” she said.